The Abruzzo region is located in central Italy, on the shores of the Adriatic Sea. It is a largely mountainous territory since two thirds of it is made up of mountains and the rest of it is made up of hills. It is made up of 4 provinces and its capital is L'Aquila. Molise was part of the Abruzzo territory from 1948 to 1965.

This still somewhat wild region lives from the cultivation of grapes, olives, sugar beet, tobacco, saffron and the breeding of pigs and sheep. The Adriatic Sea and the lakes in the interior also provide a wide variety of fish and seafood.

As far as wine production is concerned, the region has some two thousand hectares of vineyards. It is the 10th of Italy's 20 wine-growing regions in terms of area devoted to the cultivation of vines and the 5th region in terms of annual production. Red and rosé wine is generally produced here at 90%. It is the birthplace of three DOCs: the famous Montepulciano d'Abruzzo, Trebbiano and Controguerra, as well as one DOCG: Montepulciano d'Abruzzo Colline Teramane.

In addition to these DOCs, the region also has nine Indicazione Geografica Tipica (IGT) wines: Alto Tirino, Colli Aprutini, Colli del Sangro, Colline Frentane, Colline Pescaresi, Colline Teatine, Vastese (or Histonium), Terre di Chieti and Valle Peligna, which many producers use with international varieties such as Cabernet Sauvignon or Merlot.


Sorry for the inconvenience.

Search again what you are looking for