Domaine Du Pegau Châteauneuf-Du-Pape Cuvée Da Capo

CHF279.00
Tax included

Grenache noir 70%, autres cépages 30%

Alcool :15 %

T° de service : 16°/18°C 

Conservation : 5 à 20 ans

Year
Quantity

 

Secured Payment through Paypal, CB via Stripe or directly in store

 

In-Store Pickup or At Home Delivery

The Domaine du Pégau Châteauneuf-du-Pape Cuvée da Capo is a red blended wine made mainly from Grenache and many other varieties: Syrah, Mourvèdre, Cinsault, Vaccarèse, Terret, Counoise, Picpoul, Clairette, Bourboulenc, Roussane, Muscardin and Picardan. This wine of AOC Châteauneuf-du-Pape is produced by a winery in the Rhône, the Domaine du Pégau.

The Domaine du Pégau defends the traditional style of Provence and the Rhône. It is considered to be one of the main producers of Châteauneuf-du-Pape. The estate has 70 hectares spread over 11 different vineyards, which enable it to produce a wide range of wines. The average age of its vines is around 40 years. The harvest is carried out when the grapes are fully ripe. Vinification is done without the addition of commercial yeasts.

Most of the vineyards of Domaine du Pégau Châteauneuf-du-Pape Cuvée da Capo are made up of centuries-old vines: their yields are low, but they produce a very balanced and structured grape. The soils of the plots are made up of pebbles, red clay and sand.

The grapes of Domaine du Pégau Châteauneuf-du-Pape Cuvée da Capo are harvested by hand late in the season, in order to select the bunches on the ground and to obtain the ripest grapes possible. They ferment in concrete tanks for nearly 10 days, without the addition of commercial yeasts and without temperature control. Finally, the wine is pressed and aged in a 60 hectolitre cask for two years.

Domaine du Pégau Châteauneuf-du-Pape Cuvée da Capo is a cult wine that has even been the subject of speculation. A superb blend of Rhône varieties. It is a complex and delicious wine with a huge ageing potential.

99-100 JD / 96-98 WA / 97 DE / 95-97 VM

A step up over the 2015, the 2016 Châteauneuf-du-Pape Cuvée Da Capo is another perfect wine in the making and reminds me of the incredible 1998. Inky colored, with a huge, powerful bouquet of garrigue, pepper, kirsch, cured meats, and bouquet garni, this rocking effort hits the palate with full-bodied richness, building tannin, yet a wealth of pure, opulent fruit. This is classic Pégau all the way, and if forced to pick one wine in the vintage to buy, this might be it. Give bottles 4-5 years of bottle age, and it's going to cruise in the cellar for 2+ decades. - Jeb Dunnuck

This marks the first time Pegau will bottle back-to-back vintages of da Capo. The 2016 Chateauneuf du Pape Cuvee da Capo was produced from the last block picked that year and fermented outside because the winery was full. It's 70% Grenache and 30% other mixed varieties. It comes across as huge in the mouth, with substantial tannin, fleshy dark fruit, perhaps a hint of warmth and intriguing licorice nuances on the endless finish. Given the positive way these wines evolve during their extended élevage, I wouldn't be surprised to see the final, in-bottle score inch up even higher. - Joe Czerwinski, Wine Advocate

All 13 varieties have been used from lieux-dits La Crau, Les Escondudes and Mont Pertuis, with no destemming. There's some complexity and interest on the nose already, with aromas of violets, blueberries, raspberries and a touch of tobacco leaf. The wine is medium to full-bodied, but without any heaviness, with sublime freshness and piercing acidity. This has real life, and a lightness of touch which delivers real drinkability. Very fine, abundant ripe tannins work like a lattice through the fruit. The fairly raised levels of alcohol don't give a sense of imbalance in the wine, and it finishes on a lifted note. The best Da Capo in a long time. Real elegance. - Decanter

Opaque bright-rimmed ruby. Potent red fruit liqueur, incense and Moroccan spice aromas on the highly perfumed nose; a smoky mineral element provides lift. Sweet, concentrated and energetic in the mouth, offering intense raspberry liqueur and cherry cola flavors that pick up a smoky nuance with air. The penetrating, floral-dominated finish shows outstanding clarity and thrust, and harmonious tannins add framework and grip. - Josh Raynolds, Vinous Media

Data sheet

Wine Type
Red Wine

Specific References

Domaine Du Pegau Châteauneuf-Du-Pape Cuvée Da Capo

279,00 CHF
TTC

Grenache noir 70%, autres cépages 30%

Alcool :15 %

T° de service : 16°/18°C 

Conservation : 5 à 20 ans

Année
Quantité

 

Paiement sécurisé via PayPal, CB Stripe ou directement en Magasin

 

Retrait sur place en boutique ou Livraison à Domicile

Le Domaine du Pégau Châteauneuf-du-Pape Cuvée da Capo est un vin rouge coupage de Grenache en majorité, et de nombreuses autres variétés : Syrah, Mourvèdre, Cinsault, Vaccarèse, Terret, Counoise, Picpoul, Clairette, Bourboulenc, Roussane, Muscardin et Picardan. Ce vin d’AOC Châteauneuf-du-Pape est produit par une cave du Rhône, le Domaine du Pégau.

Le Domaine du Pégau défend le style traditionnel de Provence et du Rhône. Il est considéré comme étant l'un des principaux producteurs de Châteauneuf-du-Pape. Le domaine dispose de 70 hectares répartis sur 11 vignobles différents, qui lui permettent d’élaborer une large gamme de vins. L'âge moyen de ses pieds de vigne s’élève à 40 ans environ. La vendange est réalisée lorsque les raisins sont totalement mûrs. La vinification se fait sans ajout de levures commerciales.

La plupart des vignobles du Domaine du Pégau Châteauneuf-du-Pape Cuvée da Capo sont constitués de vignes séculaires : leurs rendements sont faibles, mais elles produisent un raisin très équilibré et structuré. Les sols des parcelles sont constitués de galets, d'argiles rouges et de sable.

Les raisins du Domaine du Pégau Châteauneuf-du-Pape Cuvée da Capo sont récoltés à la main tardivement, afin de sélectionner les grappes sur le terrain et pour obtenir un raisin aussi mûr que possible. Ils fermentent dans des réservoirs en béton pendant près de 10 jours, sans ajout de levures commerciales et sans contrôle de la température. Enfin, le vin est pressuré et élevé dans une foudre de 60 hectolitres pendant deux ans.

Le Domaine du Pégau Châteauneuf-du-Pape Cuvée da Capo est un vin culte ayant même fait l'objet de spéculations. Un superbe coupage de variétés du Rhône. C’est un vin complexe et délicieux, qui offre un potentiel de garde gigantesque.

99-100 JD / 96-98 WA / 97 DE / 95-97 VM

Un pas de plus vers le 2015, le Châteauneuf-du-Pape Cuvée Da Capo 2016 est un autre vin parfait en devenir et me rappelle l'incroyable 1998. D'une couleur d'encre, avec un énorme et puissant bouquet de garrigue, de poivre, de kirsch, de charcuterie et de bouquet garni, cet effort de balancement frappe le palais avec une richesse corsée, des tanins bien construits, mais aussi une richesse de fruits purs et opulents. C'est un pégau classique jusqu'au bout, et si vous êtes obligé de choisir un vin dans le millésime pour l'acheter, c'est peut-être celui-là. Donnez aux bouteilles 4-5 ans de vieillissement, et il va naviguer dans la cave pendant 2+ décennies. - Jeb Dunnuck

C'est la première fois que Pegau mettra en bouteille des millésimes consécutifs de da Capo. La Cuvée da Capo Châteauneuf du Pape 2016 a été produite à partir du dernier bloc récolté cette année-là et a fermenté à l'extérieur parce que la cave était pleine. Il est composé à 70% de Grenache et à 30% d'autres cépages mixtes. Il se présente comme énorme en bouche, avec des tanins substantiels, des fruits noirs charnus, peut-être un soupçon de chaleur et d'intrigantes nuances de réglisse sur la finale sans fin. Étant donné la façon positive dont ces vins évoluent pendant leur élevage prolongé, je ne serais pas surpris de voir la note finale, en bouteille, augmenter encore d'un pouce. - Joe Czerwinski, défenseur du vin

Les 13 variétés ont toutes été utilisées à partir des lieux-dits La Crau, Les Escondudes et Mont Pertuis, sans égrappage. Il y a déjà une certaine complexité et un intérêt au nez, avec des arômes de violettes, de myrtilles, de framboises et une touche de feuille de tabac. Le vin est mi-corsé à corsé, mais sans aucune lourdeur, avec une fraîcheur sublime et une acidité perçante. Il a de la vie, et une légèreté de touche qui lui donne une réelle buvabilité. Les tanins mûrs, très fins et abondants, travaillent comme un treillis à travers le fruit. Le degré d'alcool assez élevé ne donne pas une impression de déséquilibre dans le vin, et il se termine sur une note relevée. Le meilleur Da Capo depuis longtemps. Une véritable élégance. - Carafe à décanter

Opaque bright-rimmed ruby. Potent red fruit liqueur, incense and Moroccan spice aromas on the highly perfumed nose; a smoky mineral element provides lift. Sweet, concentrated and energetic in the mouth, offering intense raspberry liqueur and cherry cola flavors that pick up a smoky nuance with air. The penetrating, floral-dominated finish shows outstanding clarity and thrust, and harmonious tannins add framework and grip. - Josh Raynolds, Vinous Media

Fiche technique

Type de vin
Vin Rouge

Références spécifiques