Domaine Du Pegau Châteauneuf-Du-Pape Cuvée Da Capo

CHF279.00
Tax included

Grenache noir 70%, autres cépages 30%

Alcool :15 %

T° de service : 16°/18°C 

Conservation : 5 à 20 ans

Year
Quantity

 

Secured Payment through Paypal, CB via Stripe or directly in store

 

In-Store Pickup or At Home Delivery

The Domaine du Pégau Châteauneuf-du-Pape Cuvée da Capo is a red blended wine made mainly from Grenache and many other varieties: Syrah, Mourvèdre, Cinsault, Vaccarèse, Terret, Counoise, Picpoul, Clairette, Bourboulenc, Roussane, Muscardin and Picardan. This wine of AOC Châteauneuf-du-Pape is produced by a winery in the Rhône, the Domaine du Pégau.

The Domaine du Pégau defends the traditional style of Provence and the Rhône. It is considered to be one of the main producers of Châteauneuf-du-Pape. The estate has 70 hectares spread over 11 different vineyards, which enable it to produce a wide range of wines. The average age of its vines is around 40 years. The harvest is carried out when the grapes are fully ripe. Vinification is done without the addition of commercial yeasts.

Most of the vineyards of Domaine du Pégau Châteauneuf-du-Pape Cuvée da Capo are made up of centuries-old vines: their yields are low, but they produce a very balanced and structured grape. The soils of the plots are made up of pebbles, red clay and sand.

The grapes of Domaine du Pégau Châteauneuf-du-Pape Cuvée da Capo are harvested by hand late in the season, in order to select the bunches on the ground and to obtain the ripest grapes possible. They ferment in concrete tanks for nearly 10 days, without the addition of commercial yeasts and without temperature control. Finally, the wine is pressed and aged in a 60 hectolitre cask for two years.

Domaine du Pégau Châteauneuf-du-Pape Cuvée da Capo is a cult wine that has even been the subject of speculation. A superb blend of Rhône varieties. It is a complex and delicious wine with a huge ageing potential.

99-100 JD / 96-98 WA / 97 DE / 95-97 VM

A step up over the 2015, the 2016 Châteauneuf-du-Pape Cuvée Da Capo is another perfect wine in the making and reminds me of the incredible 1998. Inky colored, with a huge, powerful bouquet of garrigue, pepper, kirsch, cured meats, and bouquet garni, this rocking effort hits the palate with full-bodied richness, building tannin, yet a wealth of pure, opulent fruit. This is classic Pégau all the way, and if forced to pick one wine in the vintage to buy, this might be it. Give bottles 4-5 years of bottle age, and it's going to cruise in the cellar for 2+ decades. - Jeb Dunnuck

This marks the first time Pegau will bottle back-to-back vintages of da Capo. The 2016 Chateauneuf du Pape Cuvee da Capo was produced from the last block picked that year and fermented outside because the winery was full. It's 70% Grenache and 30% other mixed varieties. It comes across as huge in the mouth, with substantial tannin, fleshy dark fruit, perhaps a hint of warmth and intriguing licorice nuances on the endless finish. Given the positive way these wines evolve during their extended élevage, I wouldn't be surprised to see the final, in-bottle score inch up even higher. - Joe Czerwinski, Wine Advocate

All 13 varieties have been used from lieux-dits La Crau, Les Escondudes and Mont Pertuis, with no destemming. There's some complexity and interest on the nose already, with aromas of violets, blueberries, raspberries and a touch of tobacco leaf. The wine is medium to full-bodied, but without any heaviness, with sublime freshness and piercing acidity. This has real life, and a lightness of touch which delivers real drinkability. Very fine, abundant ripe tannins work like a lattice through the fruit. The fairly raised levels of alcohol don't give a sense of imbalance in the wine, and it finishes on a lifted note. The best Da Capo in a long time. Real elegance. - Decanter

Opaque bright-rimmed ruby. Potent red fruit liqueur, incense and Moroccan spice aromas on the highly perfumed nose; a smoky mineral element provides lift. Sweet, concentrated and energetic in the mouth, offering intense raspberry liqueur and cherry cola flavors that pick up a smoky nuance with air. The penetrating, floral-dominated finish shows outstanding clarity and thrust, and harmonious tannins add framework and grip. - Josh Raynolds, Vinous Media

Data sheet

Wine Type
Red Wine

Specific References

Domaine Du Pegau Châteauneuf-Du-Pape Cuvée Da Capo

279,00 CHF
inkl. MwSt.

Grenache noir 70%, autres cépages 30%

Alcool :15 %

T° de service : 16°/18°C 

Conservation : 5 à 20 ans

Year
Menge

 

Security policy (edit with Customer reassurance module)

 

Delivery policy (edit with Customer reassurance module)

Die Domaine du Pégau Châteauneuf-du-Pape Cuvée da Capo ist ein Rotwein, der hauptsächlich aus Grenache und vielen anderen Sorten hergestellt wird: Syrah, Mourvèdre, Cinsault, Vaccarèse, Terret, Counoise, Picpoul, Clairette, Bourboulenc, Roussane, Muscardin und Picardan. Dieser Wein der AOC Châteauneuf-du-Pape wird von einem Weingut in der Rhône, der Domaine du Pégau, hergestellt.

Die Domaine du Pégau verteidigt den traditionellen Stil der Provence und der Rhône. Er gilt als einer der Hauptproduzenten von Châteauneuf-du-Pape. Das Weingut verfügt über 70 Hektar, die sich auf 11 verschiedene Weinberge verteilen, die es ermöglichen, eine breite Palette von Weinen zu produzieren. Das Durchschnittsalter der Reben liegt bei etwa 40 Jahren. Die Lese erfolgt, wenn die Trauben voll ausgereift sind. Die Weinbereitung erfolgt ohne den Zusatz von kommerziellen Hefen.

Die meisten Weinberge der Domaine du Pégau Châteauneuf-du-Pape Cuvée da Capo bestehen aus jahrhundertealten Reben: ihre Erträge sind gering, aber sie bringen eine sehr ausgewogene und strukturierte Traube hervor. Die Böden der Parzellen bestehen aus Kieselsteinen, rotem Lehm und Sand.

Die Trauben der Domaine du Pégau Châteauneuf-du-Pape Cuvée da Capo werden spät in der Saison von Hand geerntet, um die Trauben am Boden zu selektieren und möglichst reife Trauben zu erhalten. Sie gären fast 10 Tage lang in Betontanks, ohne Zugabe von handelsüblichen Hefen und ohne Temperaturkontrolle. Zum Schluss wird der Wein gepresst und zwei Jahre lang im 60-Hektoliter-Fass ausgebaut.

Die Domaine du Pégau Châteauneuf-du-Pape Cuvée da Capo ist ein Kultwein, über den sogar spekuliert wird. Eine hervorragende Mischung von Rhône-Sorten. Es ist ein komplexer und köstlicher Wein mit einem enormen Alterungspotential.

Einen Schritt näher an das Jahr 2015 ist der Châteauneuf-du-Pape Cuvée Da Capo 2016 ein weiterer perfekter Wein, der mich an den unglaublichen 1998er erinnert. Tinte in der Farbe, mit einem riesigen, kräftigen Bouquet von Garrigue, Pfeffer, Kirsch, Charcuterie und Bouquet garni, dieses Bemühen um Ausgewogenheit trifft den Gaumen mit vollmundiger Fülle, gut strukturiertem Tannin und einer Fülle von reiner, opulenter Frucht. Es ist ein klassischer Pégau auf ganzer Linie, und wenn Sie sich für einen Wein des Jahrgangs entscheiden müssen, um ihn zu kaufen, dann ist es vielleicht dieser. Geben Sie den Flaschen 4-5 Jahre Reifezeit, und sie werden 2+ Jahrzehnte durch den Keller segeln. - Jeb Dunnuck

Dies ist das erste Mal, dass Pegau aufeinanderfolgende Jahrgänge des da Capo abfüllt. Die Cuvée da Capo Châteauneuf du Pape 2016 wurde aus dem letzten in diesem Jahr geernteten Block hergestellt und im Freien vergoren, da der Keller voll war. Er besteht zu 70% aus Grenache und 30% aus anderen gemischten Rebsorten. Am Gaumen ist er riesig, mit substanziellem Tannin, fleischigen schwarzen Früchten, vielleicht einem Hauch von Wärme und faszinierenden Noten von Lakritze im endlosen Finale. Angesichts der positiven Art und Weise, in der sich diese Weine während ihrer langen Reifezeit entwickeln, wäre ich nicht überrascht, wenn die Endnote in der Flasche noch einen weiteren Zentimeter steigen würde. - Joe Czerwinski, Weinanwältin

Die 13 Sorten wurden alle von La Crau, Les Escondudes und Mont Pertuis aus verwendet, ohne Abbeeren. In der Nase ist bereits eine gewisse Komplexität und Interesse vorhanden, mit Aromen von Veilchen, Heidelbeeren, Himbeeren und einem Hauch von Tabakblättern. Der Wein ist mittel- bis vollmundig, aber ohne jede Schwere, mit erhabener Frische und durchdringender Säure. Er hat Leben und eine leichte Berührung, die ihm echte Trinkbarkeit verleiht. Die reifen Tannine, sehr fein und reichhaltig, wirken wie ein Gitterwerk durch die Frucht. Der relativ hohe Alkoholgehalt macht keinen Eindruck von Ungleichgewicht im Wein und endet mit einer würzigen Note. Die beste Da Capo-Abteilung

99-100 JD / 96-98 WA / 97 DE / 95-97 VM

Technische Daten

Wine Type
Red Wine

Besondere Bestellnummern