Le Clarence de Haut-Brion

CHF119.00
Tax included

Vin rouge - AOC - Cépages : Cabernet franc, Cabernet sauvignon, Merlot, Petit verdot

Year
Capacity
Quantity

 

Secured Payment through Paypal, CB via Stripe or directly in store

 

In-Store Pickup or At Home Delivery

Château Haut-Brion, the mythical Premier Cru classé, offers a remarkable second wine with this Clarence de Haut-Brion, still called Château Bahans Haut-Brion before the 2007 vintage. It was renamed in honour of Clarence Dillon, the renowned ancestor of the current owners and enlightened purchaser of this prestigious estate in 1935.

Made from a blend of just over 50% Merlot, 35% Cabernet Sauvignon and 15% Cabernet Franc, this second wine benefits from the same prerogatives as its illustrious older brother: exceptional terroir of multicoloured gravel, benevolence in the vineyard, meticulous harvesting, precise and attentive vinification. The use of 20 to 25% new barrels for the maturing process, as well as barrels that contained the Grand Vin of the previous year for the rest, ends to explain this obvious filiation.

Thus, vintage after vintage, the qualities of Château Haut-Brion can be found relentlessly in the glass, with a Pessac-Léognanélégant, precise, structured and powerful, always built around a tasty aromatic intensity - red fruit and black cherry. Although earlier, it will still need to improve for at least 5 years in the cellar to reveal all its imitative talents.

JS 94 (2/2013): Quite jammy on the nose with lots of fruit. Plums, berries and jam. Full body, with a fluid center palate and chewy tannins. Round and rich. Seems more upfront and friendly than the second wine of La Mission. 52% Merlot, 36% Cabernet Sauvignon, 10% Cabernet Franc, and 2% Petit Verdot. Better in 2018. 

WA 93 (2/2013): The second wine of Haut-Brion is now called Le Clarence de Haut-Brion, and the 2010 is among the finest I have tasted there. It is a broad, powerful and more muscular wine than its cross-street rival, La Chapelle de la Mission, but all the same, it is wonderfully fresh and precise, with notes of blueberry and boysenberry as well as hints of smoke and wet stones. Endowed with gorgeous fruit, texture, purity and elegance, this relatively dense second wine demonstrates how draconian the selection process has become for the top estates in Bordeaux in recent years. The blend of this wine is 52% Merlot, 36% Cabernet Sauvignon and the rest mostly Cabernet Franc with just a touch of Petit Verdot. I would expect it to last at least 20 years, which is remarkable.

Data sheet

Wine Type
Red Wine

Specific References

Le Clarence de Haut-Brion

119,00 CHF
TTC

Vin rouge - AOC - Cépages : Cabernet franc, Cabernet sauvignon, Merlot, Petit verdot

Année
Contenance
Quantité

 

Paiement sécurisé via PayPal, CB Stripe ou directement en Magasin

 

Retrait sur place en boutique ou Livraison à Domicile

Le château Haut-Brion, mythique Premier Cru classé, propose un second vin remarquable avec ce Clarence de Haut-Brion, encore appelé Château Bahans Haut-Brion avant le millésime 2007. Il fut rebaptisé en l’honneur de Clarence Dillon, ancêtre renommé des propriétaires actuels et acquéreur éclairé de ce domaine de prestige en 1935.

Issu d’un assemblage d’un peu plus de 50% de merlot, de 35% de cabernet sauvignon et de 15% de cabernet franc, ce second vin bénéficie des mêmes prérogatives que son illustre grand frère : terroir exceptionnel de graves multicolores, bienveillance à la vigne, récolte minutieuse, vinification précise et attentionnée. L'utilisation de 20 à 25% de barriques neuves pour l’élevage, ainsi que de barriques ayant contenu le Grand Vin de l’année précédente pour le reste, finit d’expliquer cette évidente filiation.

On retrouve ainsi implacablement, millésime après millésime, les qualités du Château Haut-Brion dans le verre, avec un Pessac-Léognanélégant, précis, structuré et puissant, toujours construit autour d’une savoureuse intensité aromatique - des fruits rouges et de la cerise noire. Bien que plus précoce, il devra tout de même se bonifier durant 5 ans au moins en cave pour révéler tous ses talents d’imitateur.

JS 94 (2/2013) : Nez assez confituré avec beaucoup de fruits. Prunes, baies et confiture. Corps plein, avec un centre de bouche fluide et des tannins mâchus. Rond et riche. Semble plus franc et amical que le second vin de La Mission. 52% Merlot, 36% Cabernet Sauvignon, 10% Cabernet Franc, et 2% Petit Verdot. Mieux en 2018. 

WA 93 (2/2013) : Le deuxième vin de Haut-Brion s'appelle maintenant Le Clarence de Haut-Brion, et le 2010 est parmi les meilleurs que j'y ai goûté. C'est un vin large, puissant et plus musclé que son rival de la rue transversale, La Chapelle de la Mission, mais tout de même, il est merveilleusement frais et précis, avec des notes de bleuet et de mûre de Boysen ainsi que des notes de fumée et de pierres humides. Doté d'un fruit, d'une texture, d'une pureté et d'une élégance magnifiques, ce second vin relativement dense démontre à quel point le processus de sélection est devenu draconien pour les meilleurs domaines de Bordeaux au cours des dernières années. L'assemblage de ce vin est composé de 52% de merlot, 36% de cabernet sauvignon et le reste est principalement composé de cabernet franc avec juste une touche de petit verdot. Je m'attendrais à ce qu'il dure au moins 20 ans, ce qui est remarquable.

Fiche technique

Type de vin
Vin Rouge

Références spécifiques